Photos of the Long Island Sound

About Us

Citizens Advisory Committee


The Long Island Sound Study (LISS) Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) is a volunteer organization that provides ongoing advice to the Federal, state, and local government Management Conference partners working on implementing the Comprehensive Conservation and Management Plan (CCMP) for the restoration and protection of Long Island Sound. The CAC is governed by its Bylaws enacted in 1988, and last amended in 2006.

Membership on the CAC is open to individuals representing environmental organizations, businesses, industries, local governments, and other public and private organizations in Connecticut and New York with a demonstrable interest in the restoration and protection of the Sound and its ecosystems.

The CAC meets quarterly on the second Thursday of March, June, September, and December in New York City and Stamford, Connecticut. Meetings are open to the public. Membership is limited to 60 voting members, who are approved by the CAC. Members are committed to the restoration and protection of the Sound, and must abide by the CAC Bylaws to remain in good standing.


See Events & Meetings web page for announcements of upcoming committee meetings for MC, STAC, CAC, and HRSWG.

Committee Members


  • Holly Drinkuth, The Nature Conservancy, CT Co-chair
  • Nancy Seligson, Town of Mamaroneck, NY Co-chair

New York

  • Patricia Aitken, Whaling Museum and Education Center at Cold Spring Harbor
  • Sarah Deonarine, Manhasset Bay Protection Committee
  • Carol DiPaolo, Coalition to Save Hempstead Harbor
  • Meagan Fastuca, Town of North Hempstead
  • (vacant), Nassau County Public Works Department
  • Martin Garrell, PhD, Adelphi University
  • George Hoffman, Setauket Harbor Task Force
  • Jim Hutchinson, New York Sportfishing Federation
  • Heather Johnson,  Friends of the Bay
  • Philip Ingerman, Town of Huntington
  • Peter McCartt, Westchester County Dept. of Sustainability
  • Erin McGrath, Audubon New York
  • David Miller, NYLCVEF
  • Maureen Dolan Murphy, Citizens Campaign for the Environment
  • Daniel Natchez, Daniel S. Natchez & Associates
  • Anthony Sorrell, Federated Conservationists of Westchester County
  • Eric Swenson, Hempstead Harbor Protection Committee
  • Jaime Van Dyke, Town of Oyster Bay Dept. of Environmental Resources


  • Allen Berrien, Milford Harbor Marina
  • Phil Brencher, The Sound School Regional Vocational Aquaculture Center
  • Tracy Brown, CT Fund for the Environment/Save the Sound
  • William Cavers, Darien Advisory Committee on Coastal Waters
  • Tanya M. Court, The Business Council of Fairfield County
  • Sarah Crosby, Earthplace/Harbor Watch
  • Katie Cubina, Mystic Aquarium
  • Garrett Owen Grant, Pequonnock Yacht Club
  • Fred Grimsey, Save the River/Save the Hills
  • Carl Harvey, Mennunkatuck Audubon Society
  • David Hudson, PhD, The Maritime Aquarium at Norwalk
  • Margaret Miner, River Alliance Connecticut
  • Kate Mosley, Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
  • Genevieve Nuttall, Audubon Connecticut
  • Joel Rinebold, Joel M. Rinebold LLC
  • Denise Savageau, Connecticut Association of Conservation Districts
  • Leigh Shemitz, SoundWaters
  • Daniel Snyder, Shoreline Shellfish, LLC and Sound Marine Skills, Inc.
  • Howard Weiss, PhD, Project Oceanology
Subscribe to receive our e-newsletter, Sound Bytes by providing your email address. Interested in a free copy of our print newsletter, Sound Update? Then also provide your home/company/school address.